Click to Home
New Kent County, Virginia

Go To Search
Community Development

The Department of Community Development is comprised of four divisions. Through these divisions, the department works to guide New Kent County’s long and short-term development. The department looks to preserve and enhance the quality of life for present and future generations through the county’s comprehensive planning process.

  • The Administrative Division provides support to the department.
  • The Economic Development Division is responsible for fostering a strong economic environment which supports existing businesses and promotes high quality economic growth while promoting tourism for the County's historic, natural resources and commercial tourism venues.
  • The Environmental Division is responsible for promoting harmonious relationships among the natural environment, the built environment, and those who inhabit them.
  • The Planning Division is responsible for developing and recommending growth management strategies, encouraging aesthetically pleasing development, and ensuring our community grows through positive land use development practices.

Contact Us

Community Development
12007 Courthouse Circle
P.O. Box 150
New Kent, VA 23124

Phone: (804) 966-9690
Fax: (804) 966-8531

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm