Click to Home
New Kent County, Virginia

Go To Search
Sheriff's Office Components
SheriffStar2012.JPGSheriff's Office Components

The Sheriff's Office is the primary law enforcement agency for New Kent County. We do not operate a jail in the county; however, the Henrico County Sheriff's Office has it's Regional Jail East facility here in New Kent County. Below you will find a description of each section of the Sheriff's Office.

  • Command Staff - The Senior Command Staff  is comprised of Sheriff F. W. "Wakie" Howard, Jr., Chief Deputy J. J. McLaughlin, Jr., Operations Captain C. B. Hamlet, and Services Captain C. H. Gardner. 
  • Command Staff - Administrative Lieutenant L. S. Bailey, Patrol Lieutenant J. L. Hamby, Civil Process/ Courts Lieutenant W. H. Carter, and Investigative Detective Lieutenant J. J. McLaughlin, III.
  • Administrative / Records - The Administrative and Records Section is comprised of six full- and part-time employees that are responsible for budget / finance records, police records, and daily correspondence for the Sheriff and Chief Deputy Sheriff.
  • Animal Control - The Animal Control Unit is made up of two full-time animal control deputies. The unit is headed by Captain Gardner and supervised by Corporal Watkins. An animal shelter custodian is charged with care of the animal shelter.  For information about pet adoption and control. Please view our animal control page.
  • Communications - This section is comprised of 17 full- and part-time communications officers. The section is headed by Captain Gardner. It is responsible for all emergency and non-emergency calls coming into the Sheriff's Office, as well as dispatching Sheriff's and Fire / Rescue personnel.
  • Courts and Civil Process - The Courts and Civil Process Section is comprised of eight full- and part-time deputies. The section is headed by Lieutenant W. H. Carter and supervised by Sergeant W. Clark. These deputies work during the week with varying reporting times, and are charged with maintaining the security of the Courthouse, prisoner transportation, civil process, and warrant tracking.
  • Investigations - The Investigations Section is headed by Lieutenant J. J. McLaughlin, III., and two Detective Sergeants. This section is charged with investigating all violations of state and local ordinances.
  • Patrol - The Patrol Section is comprised of 18 full-time, part-time, and auxiliary deputies. The section is headed by Lieutenant Hamby and each platoon is supervised by either Sergeant Jenkins and Sergeant Thomas. The section has two patrol platoons (Platoon A and B). Each platoon works a 12-hour shift. This schedule allows deputies to have off every other Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Patrol deputies handle calls for service and enforce state and local criminal and traffic law.
  • School Resources - The School Resource Unit is comprised two Corporals. The unit is headed by Captain Gardner. School resource deputies enforce security at all New Kent County schools. They handle complaints and investigations on school property, as well as enforce state and local ordinances throughout the county.